Those that know me know that I am not doing this by choice. I’m the type of person that if I dig down far enough into my closet I’m pretty sure I can find my copies of my high school newspaper. (And that’s after I’ve moved 4 times since graduating) So, becoming a minimalist hasn’t really been a choice that I’ve wanted to make it has been one that I have to make.

If you haven’t figured it out by now I’m in the middle of getting my medical clearance for the Peace Corps. For some reason a lot of friends and family thought I could bring most of my stuff with me like I was just moving to a new apartment overseas. WRONG. I can bring 2 checked bags that weigh less than 100 pounds and have dimensions of 107 inches together, 1 carry-on, and a personal bag i.e. a purse or messenger bag.

With only being allowed that much luggage I’m almost positive that my couch, bed, wall hangings, and everything else that makes my apartment home (insert my elephant lamp here) will not be able to come with me. Which brings me to the title of this blog Becoming a Minimalist. I’m purging out almost everything I own and keeping only a few precious “things” I couldn’t live without. I’ll admit right here and now that the items that I’m keeping could definitely be lived without but, they are where I put my foot down and say enough is enough. I will get rid of my couch, chair, tables, etc. BUT I REFUSE TO GET RID OF MY RECORD PLAYER. I know…my priorities are in good places.

It was hard walking through my apartment and deciding what I was going to be throwing away, giving away, and trying to sell. The couch I have, that I love,  that was my moms before being mine and has been with one or both of us for 10 years now, giving away. The pots, pans, and every other kitchen utensil, that took me forever to collect being a broke college student, giving away. The clothes I won’t have room to take with me, selling and giving away. It’s like everything that makes a place for me to come back to is going to be gone.

Don’t get me wrong it feels slightly nice to not have all of these worldly possessions holding me down. It’s just hard to get used to the idea. I have managed to narrow down what I am keeping to a pretty lean list with the most important items on it. The list confirms the truth that I am a nerd. A few random things I refuse to get rid of and am making my mom hold onto for me are:

  1. My record player and record collection (really wish I could bring this with)
  2. My N64 and all the games (huge nerd and what 90’s kid would give that up?)
  3. My framed drawings (if it took me hours or weeks to draw something I’m keeping it)
  4. Comforter set (sounds ridiculous but I’m in love with it)
  5. Random decorations from around the apartment (elephant lamp, treasure chests)
  6. Pictures and picture albums
  7. A few clothes to come home to
  8. My books (I gave 2 plastic tubs full of books away but I refuse to get rid of the ones on my bookcase)
  9. My puppy Odin (Making someone keep him and skype me with him while I’m gone)
  10. My bed (It’s comfy, I just bought it, and beds are expensive)
  11. My car (Super low mileage, just got it a year ago, and I don’t want to buy another when I get home)

So, a little over 11 things that I refuse to get rid of. I know if I was a minimalist there is a lot of things that wouldn’t have made it on this list. I’ll admit it now. I have failed at becoming a minimalist but, have succeeded in stopping my pack-rat tendencies. YAY ME!!

P.S. The image is the much talked about and loved elephant lamp. If you would like to see more pictures that I have taken of things other then elephant lamps click here. 

 

15 thoughts on “Becoming a Minimalist

  1. It sounds like you are begrudgingly becoming a minimalist. How much do you really LOVE your things. They are just things. People should be loved, things should be enjoyed and bring you happiness but not loved. Your puppy can be loved though 🙂

    I love my books but I don’t reread them too often. And when was the last time you sat down for a good session of N64 gaming?

    I hope you find joy in returning to the things that you kept around. They should bring you joy and if they do then definitely keep them.

    Like

    1. While it is slightly begrudgingly there are a couple reasons for that. I am literally getting rid of everything I own except for the items on that list. I will be living out of 2 checked bags, 1 carry on, and a personal bag for two years.Which, means that I will come back to no place to live except for with my mom and have nothing to supply a new place when I find one. That also means I will also have to find all new furniture, cooking items, etc. So, yes it is with some trepidation that I do this.
      The things that I am keeping are things that make me happy which, is why I am keeping them. While I am happy to be getting rid of a lot of baggage that I do not need it’s still hard to think that everything that you’ve worked hard to get while being a broke college student to a working professional is going to be gone. Although, out of everything I wish I could stuff my puppy into my carry-on and keep him with me.

      Like

  2. I understand the pain of releasing “stuff”. You are lucky in that you have a choice of losing it or storing it..so many lose everything through bad decisions, lack of funds, earthquakes, etc. One of the best things that ever happened to me was also one of the worst, and that was being homeless. I had nothing except an id due to expire and two babies…..it is very freeing (it’s also scary as hell) to find oneself with no possessions. You will do fine. You are going to a place that at least has running water and housing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not really storing my things because it would be to expensive and I don’t have that kind of money. But, I luckily have some great people in my life that are willing to hang on to/use the things I am keeping until I get back. It is definitely freeing to not have everything holding me back if I wanted to do something now. I know I am pretty lucky for my placement in the Peace Corps.
      I actually have lost everything due to a house fire before. The only thing that survived were my photos. Which, is quite surprising because they were right where the fire started. I still couldn’t imagine being homeless and the tribulations you would have went through especially with two babies. Have a great rest of your day and thinks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I want to do this, but I have all these trinkets and collectibles I just wouldn’t know where to start. How does one do this? Does this make me materialistic? I don’t have many people in my life who I like, let alone love, so I take pride in my books and toys. But I’m noticing my room become more and more crowded. Awesome post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile but, I never want to get rid of anything. I have to now because I can’t afford storage for the 2 years I’m going to be gone. I had to go a little more dramatic then you would because I’m leaving for two years but, here is how I did it.

      I started with my books which, was a sad thing for me. I have, scratch that had, a bookcase, a huge tub, and two milk crates full of books. I knew that the most important books to me were the ones on my bookcase. So, I ended up giving the rest, after going through them, to a teacher at the school I work at.

      Next was my clothes. I had sooooo many I took up a small walk in closet with clothes on a shelf above the hangers. I narrowed it down to what I would take with me and things that I wear all the time.

      My next thing to tackle was all of the wall hangings and trinkets I had. If it meant something special to me like my drawings that are framed, my record played, and my elephant lamp I kept. If it was just something random to not have a blank wall I got rid of them.

      The last thing I went through was everything that was random. Furniture, cooking utensils, vehicles and everything else that was random. But, you wouldn’t have had to go as far as I did.

      Like

      1. Holy books that’s a lot, a part of me wants to go through my things and every time I do I end up with more stuff for some reason. I have a shit ton of clothes that I have to go through as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, I kept telling myself before this that I would go through everything and get rid of things. Every time I went through things I ended up spending more time looking at what I had and wouldn’t get rid of anything.

        Like

  4. I understand how you feel , I’m going off to college in like four months. There’s a lot of things that I have and “love” that I will like to take with me, but I can not take those things. I will be living in a small dorm and it makes me said because i feel as if I have to have those things with me even though I don’t really need it. I am in the same process as you are in, my parents also think that i will be able to take everything with me when I really would not be able to .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess I never had to do that for college because I went to a community college before a university specifically so I wouldn’t have to live in a dorm. So, everything from my parents has moved with me from my first apartment at 18 to my now last apartment at 24. I feel like it might slightly be easier for someone moving into a dorm after living with their parents their entire life because you don’t have all the extra crap someone would after living on their own. For example, you probably have your bed but, I’m guessing you don’t have a living room set, dining room set, and all that extra junk. Now would be the best time for you to begin the purge and get rid of things that you know you wouldn’t need or really miss. I’m sure your parents would be willing to hold on to pictures and the like until you moved out of your dorm. Good luck with figuring out what to take and in college.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

