Is This a Quarter Life Crisis?

Am I in the midst of a quarter life crisis at this moment in my life? Well, if you asked the few people that are close to me they would tell you yes. If you asked me I would tell you no. So, let’s investigate the two sides of this story.

Their side (for some reason I imagine the Darth Vader theme song playing right now). They think that I’m in the midst of a quarter life crisis because of a couple reasons. Actually…..to be honest they probably only think I am having a quarter life crisis for one reason and one reason only. I’m joining the Peace Corps.

I guess I see their point of view. They see it as me giving up a good job, great benefits, my apartment, my car, and let’s just basically say my entire life as it is now. I get it. How could someone that is completely sane get rid of everything in their life just when they finally made it? Psssttt…..I’ll let you in on a little secret I’m not completely sane. I don’t think anyone is though so, don’t hold that against me.

It is true though how could I give up everything when I just graduated college and began my first year of, what I hope is, a lifelong career?

Well, I’ll give you that answer right now. I can give up everything because to accomplish your dreams/goals you have to make your dreams happen.

6166800063_62db0955b4_o.jpg

What does this mean? It means that you have to actually try to make them happen. If that means giving up something, having to do something that is hard for you, or having to take time out of your week to spend a few minutes working toward it then that’s what you have to do.

I guess that’s the basis of why I don’t think I’m having a quarter life crisis. I’m working to live out my dream. Yes, I have to give things up but, this is something I’ve wanted to do for around 10 years. Is it hard to give up the “things” that I’ve worked hard to have and that mean something to me? Yes. Is it worth it to be able to achieve one of my dreams in the process of doing it? Yes.

So, to everyone that’s asked if I’m having a quarter life crisis. and to everyone that has said I’m doing it to run away from things. Take a long look at your life and ask yourself this. Have you ever had a dream or a goal that you wanted to accomplish? If so did you do everything in your power to accomplish that dream or did you just let it go by the wayside to be something you will regret later in life? I’ll tell you this when you’re old and unable to even try to accomplish your dreams do you think you would regret giving up something to accomplish them or would you regret not trying to accomplish them at all?

 

Do you have a dream that you’ve had to give things up for or work hard for? If so what was that dream?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Is This a Quarter Life Crisis?

  1. Your tagline of your blog says and I quote “achieving dreams” and this post literally shows that your actions speak louder than your words. I’m so happy for you that you’re going after your dream. In terms of my dream I dreamt of starting a blog and I had to let go of more mental blocks than physical blocks to achieve it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the positive feedback. So far I’ve accomplished most dreams/goals that I’ve set for myself well, at least the big ones. Although at times it has been pretty trying I’ve managed to push through. It is hard to start writing a blog and put yourself out there into cyberspace. Especially with all of the negative nancy’s out there. Luckily wordpress has a great community of bloggers. I’m glad you started your blog as you dreamed of doing. I never thought I’d have a blog or that people would find it interesting enough to read. But, we never know where life will take us.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree. I was always scared because of the fear once something is online it’s there forever and I thought it’ll be a waste of time but in reality four months and 31 followers later blogging is literally all I think of and want to do

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I can understand that. I didn’t think I would actually have anyone following me when I first started this and that it would be a waste of time. Then I started writing and it helped me get my thoughts down. I was also worried about it being online forever but, I figured as long as I didn’t talk about anything I wouldn’t later want to read I would be fine. I’m almost to 30 followers and none of them are people I know which is who I thought this blog would be for.

    Like

  3. Hi,
    I know Matt. That’s really funny– not a midlife crisis, but a quarter life crisis.
    I met you in the Community Pool where you indicated you were a frustrated blogger. I help frustrated bloggers at my site. Tips for engaging readers, improving content, and increasing traffic are waiting for you. I brought you the link to my About page so you can read what my blog can do for you.
    http://mostlyblogging.com/about/
    I offer free incentives for subscribing. I also hold ten networking events each month where you could meet new readers.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think it is amazing what you are doing. I am 46 and my dream is to become a recognized blog writer… however my life with 5 kids tends to come first so I push my writing aside. I am hoping this summer I will be able to spend more time on building my blog to the way I want it. I hope you keep writing about your peace corp adventures.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I can’t imagine having 5 kids and being able to get anything done. Heck I have no kids and sometimes I can’t get anything done.

      Don’t hope to be able to spend time on your blog this summer. Just do it! I’m not sure the ages of your kids but I’m sure they will sleep in some this summer. There’s always after they go to bed too. Find a little time each day to work on it this summer! Or if not each day then at least once a week set aside a couple hours for yourself to work on it.

      As long as I get medically cleared which should be anytime within the next month or so I will definitely keep writing about the peace corps and my adventures.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I look forward to reading about your travels. Two of my children are already out of the house one out of college and the other a junior in college. My youngest son is graduating high school in June and will be on his way to college to join his brother. Then we are left with two girls… I am pretty sure the chaos will get worse with them. Best of luck and enjoy your life!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

