Resigning from a job…something I have never done before. Probably because none of the jobs I’ve had before were jobs that you would need to resign from. They were your basic I’m letting you know that I’m quitting jobs. The job I have now through the end of the year is one that you have to resign from.

I put in my notice of resignation for the end of the 2015-2016 school year about a month ago. It was one of the times that my anxiety popped up again big time. I almost started crying when telling one of the two principals that I was resigning and why. It wasn’t because I was sad its that when I have really bad anxiety that’s what starts to happen. It’s not the boo-hoo crying my eyes just start watering and I try to clench my butt-cheeks together so I don’t start. I swear this is legitimate. Well, at least as legitimate as my high school English teacher could be.

It was not even two weeks later and they had already hired someone new. Don’t get me wrong I’m glad they found someone so quickly and I hope she is a good fit for the kids but, I’m a little apprehensive about it. I saw and talked to her for a couple seconds when she was getting a tour of the school during her interview but, I just found out she is going to be here at the school Monday.

I’m just wondering why is she coming to the school Monday. Is she going to watch me teach my classes? Is she filling out paperwork? Is she going to be in my room looking for things? I know that this is going to soon be her classroom but, right now it is mine. I don’t want her going through my things thinking they are the schools and taking them to look.

I mean I came into this school with no math curriculum or anything to base what I was going to teach off of. I filled the classroom with things that I created, bought, or got for free myself. I decided to just go ahead and put my name on everything that was mine in the classroom so if she does come she won’t be confused.

The only reason that I did this is that when I was a new teacher last year there was a lot of things  already in my classroom and I thought they were left for me. After I set up my room I came the next day and everything was gone and there was a note left saying, “Sorry about leaving my things in your room for so long”. Which, kind of sucked because I didn’t know that I  needed to go buy those things so I didn’t want her to have to do that.

I guess I’m just the type of person that doesn’t like someone following me around and watching my every move. It causes anxiety. Plus, it’s the end of the year and we aren’t doing a lot. In both of my instructional math classes we are working on final exam projects and after that we are watching a movie that I have fun hands-on building math projects for. I don’t have any more IEP (Individualized Education Program) meetings or paperwork and the only thing I’m really doing on prep is grading papers and creating a binders for different paperwork I have.

I guess it’s also going to make me sad seeing her there because she will be their teacher next year and even though I’m super excited about joining the Peace Corps and the kids can get on my nerves  I will still miss them.

Have you ever left a job that you were going to really miss? If so, what was it about the job that you were going to miss so much? Have you ever had to train your replacement?

Peace out bloggers and thanks for reading my blog. Have a great Cinco de Mayo!

Image result for happy cinco de mayo <What a lot of people are going to end up doing tonight.

10 thoughts on “Resignations, Anxiety, & New Hires

  1. Thank you for following my blog. I am glad it led me to yours. Best of luck in the Peace Corps. Interested to see how your story continues as a new follower.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I have a couple posts earlier that talk about what I’m doing. They are slightly boring though. It was before I started getting into my own writing style.

      I’ve wanted to join the Peace Corps since I was a sophomore in high shool. I graduated and wanted experience before I tried to volunteer. I started the application process and got accepted. I’m waiting for medical clearance but I don’t see any problems happening so I should be cleared. I’m leaving for Macedonia in September to volunteer for two years. I might be teaching there but I might not. I’ll be working in the community development sector. I plan on getting back into teaching when I get back.

      No worries about thinking judgemental. Questions are always welcome and being new to my blog you wouldn’t have known that’s why I’m leaving teaching. Thanks for the question.

      Like

  2. Congrats on the Peace Corps. Yes, I resigned from a job before. Leaving my students hurt the worst because some began to cry. I only told a few of them because I felt they deserved to know.
    I also missed my coworkers. We were like family. Fortunately, I still see and talk with a few of them. Time will heal it all for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually did a presentation on why I was leaving. I felt even worse because they have had a new teacher almost every year. They are older kids but still. I found some good friends in this job and I think they’ll last.

      Like

Leave a Reply

