In 12 days my first year of teaching will be over. After 9 months of making my own curriculum, coaching a volleyball team, scheduling & running Individualized Education Plan (IEP) meetings, writing IEP’s, figuring out what works and doesn’t work with my students, and basically flying on the seat of my pants it’s almost over. To be honest this first year of teaching isn’t anything like what I expected it to be.

I expected to have a curriculum already made for me. Not lesson plans already made but at least a list of what I should teach throughout the year and a book to go with it. Instead I searched through my classroom and others for books I could use. Now at the end of the year I have an entire huge binder with a math curriculum that I made on my own.

I expected to have anxiety and be stressed out by having to run IEP meetings. I mean I’m only 24 and I felt that the parents wouldn’t feel comfortable with me running the meetings. Instead all of the meetings went extremely well and I didn’t have any problems with parents throughout the year.In fact on of the parents also works at the junior high and told a co-worker that I was very professional, put her at ease, and didn’t overwhelm her with special education lingo.

For my first year of teaching I have to say that I didn’t do to bad and I ended up at a good school. I learned a lot from co-workers, on my own throughout the year, and got some great experience. Did I get along with everyone I worked with? No. Did I do everything the right way the first time? No. Is there a lot of things I can improve on the next time I’m teaching? Yes. But, all in all I think for a first year teacher I did pretty dang good.

It’s hard to believe that the person I used to be in high school is the same person I have become today. I never would have thought that I would end up being a special education teacher, enjoying it, and being able to handle all of the responsibilities that come with it plus taking on more responsibilities like coaching. It goes to show that even though people may perceive you one way throughout your younger life they never know what you will become when you get older.

I guess this leads me into the next post I have scheduled all about how people may perceive you one way but they never know the full story.

Has someone ever perceived you one way until you proved them wrong? Have you ever done well at something you thought you would do horrible at?

Until next time fellow bloggers.

Thanks for reading my posts

 

 

22 thoughts on “Last Days of Teaching

  1. congrats on your first year being almost done! and also way to go on creating your own curriculum – it cannot have been easy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 It was a nightmare at first and I actually didn’t put together a tangible curriculum, for the entire year, that you could look through until a couple weeks ago. But, now I always have something to take with me if there isn’t one at the next school I teach in.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I wouldn’t say that we gossip about students. Gossiping insinuates that what we are saying about the students might not be true, we aren’t sure if it’s true, and that we are still talking about it. I would say that we talk about students outside of class which, doesn’t mean it has to be bad. It depends on the school, the teachers, the students, and the environment how the students are talked about.

      In the school I work in now do we talk about the students outside of class and among ourselves? Yes. Most of the time though it’s about how the kid has missed a lot of school or trying to figure out why they were acting out or about something funny they did or said. We might complain about how there’s a class that’s hard to control and try to give some advice about doing that.

      Then there’s other schools. I student taught at one that I refused to go to the teachers lounge. They complained, bad mouthed, and basically talked crap about their students. The school wasn’t very good and the teachers didn’t really care. I mean I was in college supposed to be learning from one of them and she had me do Math Bingo with them every day I was there. So, I guess you can take this answer however you would like but, it’s the best I can do to explain it to you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok I understand. I just find it amazing how you can give me a teachers insight into things because I spend most of my time trying to figure out what the teachers are thinking especially when they’re walking with a concentration face

        Liked by 1 person

      2. “Concentration face” right now in the school year probably means ” I have a million and one things to do before the end of the year, crap I forgot to make copies of all those papers, i still need to finish the final exam answer key, did I get all my grades in?, I need to get my inventory done soon, I need to go grocery shopping sometime, don’t forget next Sunday’s graduation and I have to go to that, I could use a nap, the kid are acting crazy because it’s the end of the year, and the last thought just think only 12 school days left until freedom” lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. The funny thing is the students complain about how teachers stress them out but in reality it’s the other way round because of the amount of papers you have to mark and that stuff. Plus the thought that probably goes into planning out lessons to make them as easily accessible as possible

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I can see why some teachers make students stress out but for the most part the stress comes from the students themselves. Yes, it is the end of the year and finals are coming up and that could be stressful. But, if you paid attention in class, asked questions when you didn’t understand something, asked the teacher for help, took notes, and study there shouldn’t be any reason that a student would need to stress out.

        Like

  2. Sadly, creating new materials seems to be the trend. I guess it might depend on where you teach though. I’ve worked for the past 10 years in urban schools and I’ve had to recreate things every year. You are either moved classes, the curriculum changes, expectations determine new assessments/materials or something else happens that makes what you previously spent hours making, no longer work. So, I feel your pain about having to create resources.
    As for how people perceive me…people rarely understand the real me at first. Perhaps that’s an added adventure to life? I think a challenge I experience a lot is when someone is telling me their impression of someone we both know, and I know that their perception is way off. What do you do? Stay quiet to remain respectful? State the truth and possibly been seen as negative or gossiping? It’s a hard spot to be in.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know that teachers usually have to make some of their materials at every school. I also know that sometimes teachers like to add different materials into what the school already has. What I’ve never seen before is a school having absolutely nothing. No math textbooks, no curriculum saying what the students should learn throughout the year, I mean literally nothing. I get that curriculum changes and so do other things but, when that changes usually you can revamp your curriculum or add in some more materials.

      I guess it could be an added adventure to life although for me particularly I would say it isn’t. Only because people think that I’m stuck up and bitchy when in reality I just have bad anxiety and get stuck in my head when I meet new people. I’ve had people tell me their perceptions of people I know and if they are completely off I just tell them, “Oh, I’ve known that person for such and such a time and they are definitely not like that. You probably caught them on a bad day OR They come off like that at first but, it isn’t how they truly are” If the person takes it the wrong way that’s their fault not yours.

      Like

      1. Maybe it’s because that is the only thing I’ve known. My first placement where I stayed for three years until it was shut down, did not even have toilet paper for the kids. I bought it. I bought pencils, papers, textbooks, reading books, everything. So, from my experience, this is the “normal.”

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, that’s definitely not the normal here. We have bought kids clothes, shoes, food, supplies, and do a thing where during the summers and holiday the kids get a bag of groceries a week. That’s it though. I also grew up in a small town and have had all of my experiences in smallish towns.

        Like

      3. It’s crazy how different schools are all around. I love hearing about different places because it can humble me, or also encourage me. I know schools where their parking lots are full for parent conferences, and then other schools where teachers go to the parents’ homes just to try and update them on how the children are doing. The supplies you listed are daily tasks at our school. we provide breakfast, lunch and dinner to all families (600+ children). Then we provide groceries, recipes and recipes for how to recreate leftovers every Thursday throughout the entire year. Our main goal is trying to figure out how to get parents involved in their children’s education. It’s a goal we are working hard at.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. My first 2 years of college I wanted to be an English teacher. By the time I graduated, I had changed my major 2 more times. But I still have respect for the teaching profession because their jobs aren’t the easiest. Btw congrats on completing your first year!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I could have gotten a double major in special education and general education and would have only needed to take a couple extra classes. So, it still would have been in education.

        Like

Leave a Reply

