Recently I read someone else’s blog and in a post they talked about anxiety. The jist of what they said is anxiety comes from the mind and people that have anxiety have it due to their self-image and mindset.

Doctor Who what mad annoyed wut

Here is what they said are the beliefs that create anxiety:

  1. I’m not good enough
  2. No one likes me
  3. Limitiations
  4. Life is complicated
  5. Others think bad of me

At the end they basically said that we can control our emotions so we can control anxiety.

annoyed facepalm kobe bryant grumpy no

Since I have pretty bad social anxiety (I don’t take meds) let me break down the so called “beliefs” I have since I have anxiety.

  1. I’m not good enough…..
    Excuse me not good enough for what? I’m plenty good enough to have gone through 6 years of college, been the first person on either side of my family to graduate college, find a teaching job before I even graduated, coach volleyball during my first year of teaching, get accepted into the Peace Corps, and been on my own since I was
    18. So, why exactly and what exactly am I not good enough for?
  2. No one likes me…..
    what confused james franco wut uhOf course there’s some people that don’t like me but I mean no one likes me? You mean all these people that care about me and what I’m doing in life don’t like me? Whoa news to me. Sure, I know some people who don’t like me and I don’t like some people either. But NO ONE… give me a break.
  3. Limitations….
    yosub  wtf what confused comedy centralI don’t even know what the heck this is supposed to mean? What limitations do I have? I guess I’m pretty broke all the time so I’m limited in my ability to travel and buy things. Other than that I can’t think of anything I’m limited from. If I put my mind to it I’m almost guaranteed to get it in the long run.
  4. Life is complicated….
    the to do list rachel bilson duhDUHHHHHH!! If someone doesn’t know this then they are blind to the world. Life is extremely complicated and everyone can get over the complications that they have before them. I know I have.
  5. Others think bad of me…..
    Well, going back to the “no one likes me” of course there are some people out there that are going to think bad of you because they don’t like you. I’m sure there is someone that you think bad of to so get over it.

Ok…so I just explained away all of those self-image issues that supposedly make me have anxiety. I’m cured right? I just cured myself? Wait, I have to go to my friends last show (he’s in a band) this weekend? With his girlfriend I’ve only met once and all of her friends I’ve never met? Oh, crap anxiety is back….wait didn’t I just cure it? Oh, I didn’t?

They went on to tell me, after I explained to them that I didn’t have a self-image issue and couldn’t care less what people I don’t know think about me, that I must have anxiety because I see myself as someone who has anxiety.

Ā wwe whatever cm punk are you kidding me who cares

For all of you who don’t experience anxiety here’s a little insight into the mind of someone that has had panic attacks, social anxiety, and anxiety in general.

First the panic attacks, when for no reason at all except that I was really stressed at the time my chest started hurting, I felt like I couldn’t get enough air even though I was breathing, my hands were shaking so bad I couldn’t open a water bottle, my legs were weak, and all I could do was lay down.

Social anxiety…going with my friend to see his band play and no one was there that I knew so I had to stand in a crowd full of people I didn’t know by myself and I started sweating, my hands started shaking, and I just wanted to get outside away from everyone. Another verision of it…meet someone new and try to talk. My brain argues with itself saying say this, no don’t, say that, not don’t as I’m thining what the hell I don’t care about this person just say something to get the conversation going again so they stop looking at you like your nuts.
funny jennifer lawrence interview fan katniss everdeen

Anxiety in general…in college freaking out about the huge edTPA project due at the end of the year. OMG I don’t have enough time to get this done. OMG what if I’m not doing this like I’m supposed to. OMG what if I do so horrible they don’t let me pass. While at the same time thinking…I started this way before everyone else and I’m almost done halfway through the semester. I looked at examples and talked to other people and they are doing it the same way as me. I followed the directions so how would it be that bad?

cheezburger  animation cartoons & comics cartoons spongebob squarepants

Anxiety is a constant back and forth in your head trying to tell yourself that everything is fine and to stop freaking out as your brain is telling your body that there is a reason to freak out. If I could control it I would have already done that and would be feeling great now.

I guess I’m just extremely frustrated that people can be so ignorant about things. I really wanted to be rude and flip out on this person instead I calmly told them what I thought and then quit talking when I knew I couldn’t control myself. I guess they were right about being able to control your emotions….well at least some of them….some of the times.

So, people of the world with anxiety UNITE!!

Just kidding we would all be to anxious to have everyone in a group at one time.

If you have anxiety have you ever experienced someone telling you to just calm down or you’re making it up?

Again thanks for reading bloggers.

If you have anxiety or don’t have anxiety and want to know more about what it feels like watch a couple of the videos in the links below or read about how people feel about anxiety.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVEf6jS8GdU (Anxiety)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_saei85xxp0 Ā (Social anxiety)

https://www.theodysseyonline.com/18-things-people-with-anxiety-want-you-know

 

21 thoughts on “Anxiety? It’s Your Fault! What?

  1. Holy wow…I live in a world of fear which gives me cause to panic. I hear ya! I’m glad you shared. I can’t wait to read more of your blogs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading the post and taking a glance at my blog. It’s a hodgepodge of rants, random thought turned into posts, adventures, travels, and dreams. But, it seems to work for me.

      Like

  2. One of the scariest things about anxiety symptoms is that they’re involuntary. Once during a public speaking project, I was shaking so badly and my heart was racing so fast that I could barely talk; no matter what the teacher said to comfort me, my body just couldn’t control its automatic response to the unwanted stimulus that was speaking in public. I hear, “Oh, just practice and you won’t be anxious anymore!” I wish I could believe that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’ve been in that exact situation. I had to show my portfolio, answer questions about it, and do it all in front of the heads of my department in college. I was freaking out and couldn’t get out the right words all the while thinking….what the hell you know all of this in and out knock the crap off brain.

      Like

  3. This is so true! I have had so many people tell me that I caused my anxiety. If I had caused it that easy I would have switched it back off years ago! They also tell me that’s it’s all in my mind and if I don’t want it I can just get rid of it….it’s not as easy as just throwing something in the bin you know. Anxiety creeps back up on you and constantly makes you question yourself and worry about EVERYTHING.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly!! I don’t know about you but there’s always one part of my brain that’s just like knock the crap off why are you doing this, while I’m agreeing with it, and yet still having the anxiety. People that don’t have it just don’t understand for the most part.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree. I get thats it’s hard for others to understand just what it’s like. They also don’t realise it affects us physically as well. It’s like us telling them to just get rid of their cold, it takes time.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, I understand that they don’t understand. I guess it just gets me when you try to explain and someone tells you to “just get over it”. I’m just thinking if I could I would have already.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree! Anxiety is definitely in your head! A lot of it is just a battle between your good self and and our bad self. I used to get anxious all the time during medical school, especially when I first was given the responsibility of taking care of patients. What helped a lot for me was meditation and learning how to be present in the moment.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree. I’ve gotten better with all of it except the social anxiety and even that’s gotten better the older I get. There are still days when I get really anxious and I’m the typical person with social anxiety that says they will go some where and then when it comes time doesn’t want to go and stays at home. Joining the Peace Corps is going to take me out of my comfort zone but hopefully will help me with it all.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve had someone online (who’d never met me) tell me that I’m traumatized because I was spanked when I was young once. When I told him that actually I wasn’t as it was light tap on the ass, he knew better and told me that no, I was deeply disturbed as a result. I wrote this amazing information about me down in case I forgot.

    Wanna be part of something scarily AMAAAZING for bloggers?!
    Have a peek HERE.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I just popped over to check out your blog after you followed mine (thanks for that by the way!). I am so glad I did! You are so 100% right with this post. I’ve suffered with anxiety for almost 20 years, and people just don’t get it. My family was supposed to go to a picnic with friends on Saturday. Just the idea of going, even to see people I absolutely love, had me wanting to curl up in a ball and cry. For no reason that I could figure out. None. Thankfully, my hubby took the kids without me and was fine with it – I guess he’s learned to deal with my random and completely unpredictable bouts of anxiety. I wish it was as easy to cure yourself as that article makes it sound! If only!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know exactly what you are talking about. Wilton still doesn’t understand that sometimes I say I will go and do something some where with him and then when the time comes I get anxious for some reason and would rather stay at home than have to go deal with anyone. If it was that easy to cure yourself I don’t think anyone would have anxiety anymore. I know I sure wouldn’t. Thanks for the follow:)

      Like

  7. I totally understand you. I guess for some people its hard to understand what anxiety is like. Everyone is anxious sometimes, its a natural feeling. But some just become anxious in situations where it is not really necessary, or there is no’ real ‘danger. And it is in those situations that you actually experience the anxiety, you focus on it. It’s something you have or you don’t have, and there are things that do trigger the anxiety.(or at least that is the case for me) Nice blog btw! and thanks for your comments on mine šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t agree with you more that everyone is anxious sometimes. I understand that it can be hard for people to know what anxiety is like when they don’t have it. I guess I just got so worked up about the person’s post because they wouldn’t even listen to my side (the side of a person with anxiety). They kept trying to rationalize my anxiety and ended up telling me that I had anxiety because I thought I was the type of person that has anxiety…mmmkkaayyyy then lol I agree there are things that trigger anxiety and some of the things the person listed does play a part in some people’s anxiety but it isn’t what causes it. Thanks and I enjoyed your blog! Can’t wait to read more.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. As a person with Anxiety, I can totally relate. Most people do not understand at all what we go through. I can not always tell you what I am anxious about but I just am and that makes me feel crazy at times. I do feel judged by some who think I should be able to just let it go. But Anxiety doesn’t work that way. It is always there tapping you on the shoulder and whispering your worst fears into you ear. Even though you know that those fears are most likely not going to happen your anxiety fly’s in full force to make you feel like a giant hot mess. And there is nothing you can do to turn it off. ((Hugs)) to all those who Suffer with Anxiety. It is hard and it is tough ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

