Hello fellow bloggers

6082609069_cc8d918e04_o

For this weeks Sundaze with Ciara I went on a mini road trip up north. We managed to get all the way to Starved Rock without taking more than 2 wrong roads. We brought my puppy Odin with which, might not have been the best decision. You see Odin couldn’t walk on a leash to save his life.

Starved Rock wasn’t really what we expected. There was 13 miles of trails which was nice but there wasn’t as many views as I thought there would be. Most of the trails were actually wooden walkways and the other ones were paved. We might not have gone to the right part of the park to find the really good trails.I did find a cool frog though.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Odin acted like a complete nincompoop while we were walking. He pulled me along and was basically choking himself the entire time. We did manage to find a couple cool lookout spots throughout the hike.

Although it wasn’t really what we expected we still had a pretty good time. It seems like every time that we go out to do something the weather is always crappy and this time was no different. It might not have rained but it was definitely dreary, windy, and cold the entire time we were there.

Starved Rock is free, has a lot of trails, a lodge, fishing, and is dog friendly. Yet, it wouldn’t be on my top list of state parks to go to due to the wooden walkways, extreme amount of people, and the views. Unless you grew up in a city then by all means this is probably the park for you.

We decided to go camping after we left Starved Rock. I had looked up a few campground before we left and all of them prohibited alcohol! I’ve never heard of that at a campground and kept looking for a place that allowed it. I found one but it was behind a bar and was right next to a highway. That’s not how I like to camp and even though having a few beers around a fire is a great night we went to find another site.

We went to a KOA site next, found a pretty decent site, and then we were told that they weren’t letting people tent camp because the ground was to wet. I don’t know about you but I’ve never heard of a campground not letting people camp because the ground was to wet. So, we ended up going to another campground that the KOA people recommended.

Once again we ended up getting lost and having to do a couple u-turns to find the place but once we did we really liked it. They had a lot of primitive camping toward the back and the sites were really nice. We set up a tent that was brand new, got Odin on a leash, and started a fire. I personally wouldn’t recommend this Coleman tent to anyone who expects to camp in cold/windy/rainy weather. The back flap lifts up and if it was raining it would have blown right into the tent. If you just plan on camping in warm weather and want a breathable tent this would be fine.

We ended up making hobo dinners, drinking a few beers, eating smores, and just relaxing. I hadn’t been camping in a really long time and it was nice to relax in front of a fire.We woke up super early in the morning and made the drive back home.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

This time when we got lost, went the wrong way, the weather didn’t cooperate, and the place wasn’t what we expected I just went with the flow. I didn’t get upset and we managed to have a really good time. I guess what I realized during this trip is that I’m getting older and sleeping in a tent without anything under me doesn’t feel so great in the morning haha

To be honest what I actually realized was I need to take some time out of my day to stop and smell the roses. To be able to relax and sit in front of fire was so nice and I forgot all of the stresses and worries I had. Nowadays all of us are almost constantly connected. Connected to phones, laptops, video games, and work. This causes us to not have time to just relax and calm our minds. We all need to remember to disconnect and find something that we enjoy that makes us forget our worries.

I hope you all enjoyed this Sundaze post and will go out and do something you enjoy to get your mind off of your worries. I know that I am definitely enjoying finding time to expand my photography hobby and get out into nature. My next Sundaze with Ciara is actually going to be from some where I have been before. The reason for this is because 2 Sunday’s from now I will officially be on summer vacation and am planning on going out of state. So, stay tuned for out of state adventures, the best burgers you will ever eat, and small towns.ate/town.

What is something you enjoy doing that makes you forget your troubles? Have  you just relaxed and disconnected lately?

Until next time

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Sundaze with Ciara

  1. To help free myself from my troubles I always like to do something involving animals because they’re simply better than humans for me. #odinisbae

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

