Hello and happy Monday cyberspace nerds (if you’re offended then probably not the blog for you). Normally today I would be publishing a new post all about some great adventure I had on Sunday. Sadly my weekend was chock full of everything except an adventure.

I’m going out of state this coming up weekend so we’ve been trying to get everything ready for that and figure out if my puppy can go with. Then on top of that I had graduation and honors night for the school I work at. But wait….don’t you work at two schools Ciara? Why yes, yes I do. That means I had to go to two of everything.  So, instead I’m going to leave you with this post all about Nashville and later today a post about the award I was nominated for. I hope you enjoy.

Good ole’ Tennessee cowboys, cowboy hats, country music, big trucks, bigger hair, and wait….country? Not my experience…well except for the strip. It was more like…ahem…Good ole’ Tennessee leather jackets, boots, punk rock, shaved heads, tattoos, and mosh pits.

That is right folks Tennessee and Nashville is not just a hot spot for country but also a hot spot for new punk/grunge/rock music and scenes. I’ve been to Nashville twice now and it is the only place I’ve been to in Tennessee. I get the two times I’ve been mixed up so I’m just going to talk about them in general. Or maybe I’ll talk about them separately I don’t know facts will be confused but, the experience will remain.

Screenshot_2016-05-19-10-34-27

The first time I went was with my friends Blake, Lilly, and my boyfriend at the time. We drove down to see some bands play at a place called Exit/In. They have a sign inside of the venue that has a list of all the big name bands that have played there before. There is a lot of floor space for moshing and getting close to listen to the band. Upstairs they have a few tables you can sit at and watch band play. They have a strict no outside drinks policy and will ask to look in your purse/sniff a water bottle if you have one. We saw Jeff the Brotherhood, Diarrhea Planet, Cy Barkley & the Way Outsiders, The Orwells, and Ogg

Jeff the Brotherhood–https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=toUilg0uEdc
Diarrhea Planet–https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yo6TcHMRN3k
Cy Barkley & the Way Outsiders–https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ygOgna0kz4w
The Orwells–https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjWPUR1STOc
Ogg–https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h9CEOnPhgrE

In case you want to check out any of the bands ^ there is some links to a couple songs.

The next time I went to Nashville I went with my friends Blake, Lanna, and my boyfriend at the time. We drove down and went to a small bar called the Stone Fox. A lot of different bands and events happen at this bar/dinner. I’ve never tried their food but, I’m pretty sure they have a brunch and dinner menu. They have a back garden with picnic tables and Christmas tables for people to go out and enjoy the weather. They also serve drinks in glass mason jars….they switched mine out to plastic halfway through the night. Still not sure if it they did that because I had drank to much or if they ran out of clean ones. It is a really intimate setting and I even talked to a couple band members that I had seen at other shows before. They also have really good deals on PBR it was buy 2 get one free when I went and we all took turns buying them. They gave you a magnet to hold onto for your free beer. While we were there we saw Shannon and the Clams, Mikal Cronin, The Paperhead, and Weekend Babes.

Shannon and the Clams–https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CEFGcViR0ks
Mikal Cronin–https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0S2eTV2v3V0
The Paperhead–https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekGiwNtRk-Q
Weekend Babes–https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiHL7RfF7oM

We went to two other places of interest while we were there. The first was the strip where we went to eat. We tried going to a couple different places but they wouldn’t let me in because I wasn’t 21. We ended up finding a place that had a live band playing and would let me in. I’ll be honest I don’t really remember the food except for the fried pickles which, were delicious but also caused someone to spill their drink all over me. The band had an upright bass, fiddle, and some other country instruments. They were actually really good.

The last place I’ll talk about it Third Man Records. Owned by Jack White of the White Stripes it has a a record store, novelties lounge with a record both, and I’m pretty sure you can take a tour but we didn’t do that. Although interesting it wasn’t the best place we went.

If you are ever in Nashville I would really recommend going to the Stone Fox. Even if you don’t watch any bands play they always have something going on there.

Have you ever been to Tennessee? Any recommendations of places to go in Nashville or Tennessee in general? Did you listen and like the bands I mentioned? Don’t forget to leave your thoughts and comments below!

5 thoughts on “Tennessee You’re the Only Ten I See

  1. I’ve been to Nashville several times, and the place I’d recommend is the Grand ‘Ol Opry; primarily because of its history. I love all types of music, so listening to punk or grudge would be OK too. I’m just learning from you that the Nashville scene now supports other genres. I don’t know whether that means country isn’t as “hot” as it once was, or if that means country and western folks have decided to make room. When I’ve gone to Nashville, it’s usually been in the summertime. Most bars have their doors open, so you can hear what might interest you musically that way. I prefer to be wowed on the day, as opposed to planning to far in advance. I tried that in New Orleans. You can almost ruin the whole “traveler” experience unless you take your fun as it comes. Fun to me includes more than bar hopping. I do drink socially, and love to cut a rug when I find one. But, I especially enjoy museums, and other historical spots. I like to get to know the area whether I eat at a famous restaurant or not, which come to think of it, downtown Nashville didn’t have any memorable restaurants. Cool city though!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only gone to Nashville because I was going to see bands play and they were at bars. We didn’t really have much time to visit other places because we all had to work and didn’t have much time off. But I would like to go back and look at other places.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My family and I held our Family Reunion there one year, and I’ve visited since. It’s always been on vacation. We did go to bars and listen to music in bars as well. I’m just more into the history of a place. Expression: “When in Rome, do as the Romans do.” I’m flexible!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I guess in the areas that I go to “doing as the Romans” is bar hopping or going to some random basement party at some band members house that I met when they went through Carbondale and were playing. Don’t get me wrong I do love going to other places and we went and saw the Parenthenon but the inside was closed that day. I just like the music scene and being able to connect with someone over that and then hang out with them and see what they normally do for fun. It’s interesting to see how people that live some where don’t really go out and see all the places that the “tourists” go to see. Like I said though I’d like to go back and look around more.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

