Everything’s Not Bigger in Texas

Hello and happy Monday cyberspace nerds (if you’re offended then probably not the blog for you). Normally today I would be publishing a new post all about some great adventure I had on Sunday. Sadly my weekend was chock full of everything except an adventure.

I’m going out of state this coming up weekend so we’ve been trying to get everything ready for that and figure out if my puppy can go with. Then on top of that I had graduation and honors night for the school I work at. But wait….don’t you work at two schools Ciara? Why yes, yes I do. That means I had to go to two of everything.  So, instead I’m going to leave you with this post all about Texas and later today a post about the award I was nominated for. I hope you enjoy.

Everything is definitely not bigger in Texas contrary to popular belief. I have a lot of family that live in the Houston area (some of them might be bigger lol). By a lot of family I mean I have 5 uncles, 1 aunt, and over 10 cousins. We are a very diverse family having Italian, African American, and Hispanic blood running through different people. I lived in Houston part of my 8th grade year and have visited once since so I haven’t really had to many experience to write about. I’d like to go back and visit Cadillac Ranch and Austin.

Screenshot_2016-05-19-10-34-56

I have no idea what time of the year we went and visited my family. I’m pretty sure it was summer or close enough to it. It was so humid that I gave up trying to get my hair to do anything and just tried to tame it. I stayed with an uncle who lives in a very predominantly Hispanic neighborhood. We went to grab a bite to eat at a Mexican restaurant one night while staying with him. Now the restaraunts around where I grew up were nothing like this one. The T.V. was playing a Spanish soap opera, the waitresses spoke Spanish, and the menu was in Spanish. Considering I took 3 years of Spanish in high school you would think I would be good right? Wrong!

I couldn’t remember a single word for food except pollo meant chicken so I just made a guess and ordered something that had pollo in the name. It turned out better than I ever would have expected. After eating we went back to my uncle’s house and drank a few beers together before going to sleep early.

The next morning we woke up bright and early and I left with my uncle to go fishing while everyone else went to a beach in Galveston. I ended up catching 2 really big flounders and my uncle caught some too. We actually were wading in the Gulf of Mexico fishing in the water and not on a boat. After we packed up we headed to the beach where we met up with my mom and everyone else. I got to go out in the water for a little and layout before my aunt-in-laws kids wanted to leave. We ended up packing up and heading to a hotel to spend the night.

Before we went to the hotel though I convinced everyone to go see some a free art show that was going on.

My uncle’s wife’s family is originally from Mexico and she decided to make us homemade margaritas and guacamole. I had never liked guacamole but hers was delicious. We all stayed in the hotel drank some margaritas and ate guacamole. Once we got up in the morning we headed back to Houston with a different uncle. He took us to this place that I can’t remember the name of. It had an aquarium, games, boat rides, and other little entertainment. It wasn’t something I would normally go to because it was really touristy but, it was kind of interesting.

After we got home I was pretty exhausted but the uncle I was staying with made fresh potato salad, fresh fried shrimp, and fresh fish. It was probably the best seafood I have ever eaten. The next day we hung out with family because it was our last full day there. We went to a different uncles house and everyone got together for barbecue and Mexican food. If you aren’t able to tell my family is all about the food.

That’s really it for Texas. I know I haven’t really done much there but, I’m hoping to go back and see some unique and interesting spots before to long.

Have you ever been to Texas? Do you have some where you would recommend me to go in Texas or another state? Leave a comment below telling me about it.

2 thoughts on “Everything’s Not Bigger in Texas

    1. I’ll have to check it out the next time I’m in Texas. I’ve never heard of it. My aunt did tell me that I should move in or around Austin because I’d like the scene.

      Like

Leave a Reply

