Playing Catch Up

Hey everyone! It has been quite awhile since I’ve had the time to sit down and actually write something more substantial than a couple paragraphs with punctuation errors….wait there’s always punctuation errors in my writing who am I kidding? Now I have wifi at home with only 25 days left until I leave for the Peace Corps. Makes sense…not really but once I tell you everything else it will.

Where should I start? I’m not really sure…you might not know it by I just stopped writing to look back at the past couple of posts so I can catch you up and still I don’t know where to begin. I guess I’ll just jump right in. Wilton ended up finding a job pretty quickly through one of my teacher friends and we managed to survive the summer or at least managed to pay our bills. Now we have a roommate living in our spare bedroom because Wilton couldn’t afford to pay the rent by himself after I leave. I’ve never lived with a roommate before and after only 3 days of living with one I now know why I have never had a roommate. The only good thing that has come out of it is having wifi and cable at home.

I finally booked my flight to the staging event for the Peace Corps.  That was extremely interesting because they are having me fly out of the small “city” I live in, to Chicago, and then to DC for the event. I’ve never flown by myself before so it should be pretty interesting especially since I am not a fan of busy places with lots of people. Luckily I’ve talked to a lot of the other volunteers and someone is on the same flight with the same layover in Chicago as me. I also managed to find 5 people that are going to arrive in DC around the same time as me and we all decided to share a cab to the hotel. Apparently the Peace Corps doesn’t pick you up from the airport which sucks but is understandable because they’d be constantly running back and forth to meet new people coming in. I still haven’t gotten everything I need together for this adventure but I’m so close I can see the finish line. So in 24 days I’ll be on a plane to Macedonia with 30 something “strangers” to begin our two years of volunteer work and I can’t be more excited. Oh I also convinced my mom to buy and get a tattoo with me before I leave so that should be interesting.

 

IMG_20160815_144742.jpg
Almost everything I need but not quite

 

With everything going on this summer my road trips didn’t end up being exactly what I wanted them to be although I still managed to travel throughout Illinois and visit all of my favorite places that bring me good vibes. Here are some of those go 

With only 25 days left I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say but for now I’ll leave you with a picture of me blowing a weak @$$ bubble….I blame the gum

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Leave a Reply

